About Us

The Henry County Historical Society

A group of twenty-two interested individuals met at the Henry County Courthouse on February 24,1970, for the purpose of organizing a historical society. Robert Gilson was the presid­ing officer. The stated purpose of the meeting was to form a historical soci­ety within the county to perpetuate the county, to learn about and preserve the past of the county, and to generate interest in the past within the county.


The Nathaniel Hartman Log House at the Henry County Fairgrounds was originally located on the Harry Harmon farm in Napoleon Town­ship along the Maumee River. It was moved in August of 1974 to the Henry County Fairgrounds where it is has been restored by the Historical Society.

Three persons, Nat Belknap, E. Howard Bond and Genevieve Eicher, were elected to act as trustees to request the State of Ohio permission to bring the organization of the histori­cal society into full status of an incor­poration. Harold Hoff was elected to act as statutory agent. The Articles of the Incorporation were signed. Fifteen trustees were selected and were as fol­lows: Marion Greenler, Herman Wesche, Julian Luebker, Robert Mann, Freida Bruns, Russell Patterson, Emmett Mann, Ed Peper, Lillian Reiser, Eldor Gathman, Henry Eggers, Nat Belknap, Robert Gilson, Harold Hoff and Genevieve Eicher. Elected as president was Judge Robert Gilson, secretary was Harold Hoff, and trea­surer was Marion Greenler.

The Society cooperated in the observing the 150th anniversary of Henry County by displaying a number of Henry County historical items at the Henry County Fair in August, 1970.

The first banquet was held on April 16, 1971, at the United Church of Christ near Holgate. At that meeting it was announced that there were 155 members in the society, including the twelve life members. Robert G. Hadley was the speaker of the evening.

Special meetings for the member­ship were held during 1971 and included visits to Holgate, New Bavaria, and Ridgeville for special pro­grams on that area of the county. Another event of that year was the acceptance of the Vajen log cabin donated by Mr. and Mrs. Harry Har­mon. On August 6,1974, the cabin was moved to a place on the Henry County Fairgrounds. Workmen are now engaged in 1975 on restoration work on the cabin. It is hoped that it will be ready soon for public viewing.

1972’s meeting was held at Sacred Heart School, New Bavaria. Mrs. Charles Harrison presented a well-enjoyed program entitled, “Styles of Yester-years” with herself as narrator and local girls as models. Don Wolfe, of the Toledo Blade was the speaker of the evening.

1973’s meeting was held in April and several gifts to the society were accepted at this time. Included in the list was the Judge’s chair from the sec­ond courthouse, a donation of theand his daybooks donated by Dr. and Mrs. Julian Harrison and Mrs. Harold Moudy.

No meetings of the society were held during the fiscal year 1973-1974. During that time two trustees died: Herman Wesche and Emmett Mann. Their loss was keenly felt by the Soci­ety.

A letter sent to trustees in April, 1974, stated that Judge Gilson would no longer be able to serve as president of the Historical Society. A re-organi­zational meeting was held in August, 1974, and the decision made to re­organize and continue as a society. The membership had decreased to four­teen life members and six paid-up yearly members.

The officers elected for the 1975­1976 year were the following: Presi­dent, Henry Eggers. 1st Vice President, Pal Hess. 2nd Vice President, Morris Otte. Secretary, Genevieve Eicher. Treasurer, Harold Hoff.

Trustees for the 1975-1976 year elected at the annual meeting were: Pal Hess, Geneveive Eicher, Walburga Marston, Nat Belknap, Richard Col­well, Morris Otte, Mark Stober, Edmund Peper, Harold Hoff, Freida Bruns, Henry Eggers, Russell Patter­son, Harry Holscher, and Julian Lueb­ker.

P.O. Box 443, Napoleon, OH 43545

%d bloggers like this: